The Bee Gees – Massachussetts

OK I’m kinda cheating on this one, as it could easily be any one of the songs from The Very Best of the Bee Gees, except for Tragedy. It could easily have been I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You, Jive Talkin’ or You Win Again but it’s Massachussetts.  The last song (for a while) that comes from my mum and dads collection, after this I branch out on my own!

This Bee Gees album was another constant I remember when I was a kid, I don’t know if it was on all the time or if I just played it over and over again, but the whole album had a bit of everything on it and I never got enough.
I love the rolling guitar at the beginning of Massachusetts, and the chorus that always seemed louder than the rest of the song (I think all the Gees were singing).  I have no idea what the song is about, I just remember it’s a song that I still find myself singing every now and again..

Feel I’m goin’ back to Massachusetts / Something’s telling me I must go home. / And the lights all went out in Massachusetts / The day I left her standing on her own.

Leave a Reply

