Tears For Fears – Everybody Wants To Rule the World

The first CD album I bought, was Tears For Fears greatest hits, Tears Roll Down and Everybody wants to rule the world was, and probably still is my favourite track on it.

Right from the opening it is at once uplifting but mellow, a song to listen to while you’re driving, the drums roll along, the guitars circle round and you can’t help to sing along, Welcome to your life / There’s no turning back ..

I flirted with Sowing the Seeds of Love, Shout, Change and Pale Shelter, I think I probably had a full blown affair with Woman in Chains for a long time, but I came back.  Especially when Christopher Laird on Radio Nowhere played the extended version, I was back with Everybody wants to rule the world, and I haven’t left it since.  A song that I will always remember, from my first CD, that I still have, somewhere.

Leave a Reply

