Erma Franklin – Piece of my Heart

Didn’t I make you feel / Like Yoooooou were the only one … I always recognise the opening of this song instantly, the first step into a lifelong love of classic soul.  A CD compilation called the very best of blues brother soul sister introduced me to soul (my dad had already introduced me to the blues) and this track was my favourite on the double CD.  Erma Franklin wringing out the emotion over the piano led two and half minutes of heart wrenching soul.

It’s also one of my fondest memories from my clubbing days at a club that will be mentioned in a later post.  I had gone one night with a mate who didn’t club that frequently and rather than the usual funk filled set, the DJ was a lot more soulful.  After getting the floor rocking, he dropped this song, the crowd loved it, everyone singing and dancing with smiles on their faces.

Leave a Reply

