James Brown – I Got You (I Feel Good)

The scream at the beginning of this song is classic, defining almost a genre as well as the man behind it.  Heard one night on Capital FM, James Brown was, as you can probably guess, my introduction to the world of Funk.
The low driving beat propels the track while the swerving horn takes up the baton from Brown’s lyrics before passing it back all the way through it’s short, punchy 2 and a half minutes, before the theatrical finale.
Later it would be The Boss, Talkin’ Loud, Sayin’ Nothing, or Sunny with Marva Whitney among others that would be my favourites of browns, as well as the classic tracks that were, and still are, a staple of clubs everywhere, but I Got You was the first, and revelatory track that introduced me to hardest working man in show business and a whole genre that would dominate my taste for a good long time after..

 

Leave a Reply

