M/A/R/R/S – Pump Up The Volume

I love everything about this song, which will always remind me of my school discos, and which almost certainly sparked the love of dancing that still drives my feet to this day.  From the unmistakable intro through the looping beats and sparse keys through to the iconic refrain, you can’t help but at least tap your feet or bounce to it.  This and C & C music factory, Everybody Dance Now were always staples at school disco’s while I went through school, from the last days of the Juniors to the formative years of the seniors, where I would happily dance away, knowing that my rest would come when the slow songs came on at the end.

Leave a Reply

